Driver's license renewal time including seniors will be viewed as an individual, not as part of a group. this is the time to ask yourself the tough question: Should I continue the drive?
Driver’s License Renewal Laws for Older Drivers — National (04/20/2022)Source: Association
Texas: Department of Public Safety Older Driver Information — Texas (09/16/2020)Source: State Department of Transportation
Texas’s Department of Public Safety has information on its website regarding driver license renewal requirements for residents of the state.
Indiana: Older Driver Information — Indiana (03/06/2019)Source: Association
DMV.com covers senior drivers in Indiana by stating that drivers up to age 75 are required to renew their license every 4 years. Drivers ages 75 to 85 can renew their license for a period of 3 years.
Elderly Drivers Support Competency Tests — National (05/28/2011)Source: Association
Researchers studying driving habits and accident rates among the elderly found that a majority support age-based competency tests.
International Older Driver Consensus Conference on Assessment, Remediation and Counseling for Transportation Alternatives: Summary and Recommendations — National (07/28/2009)Source: Association
In 2003, 63 international experts on older driver issues met to examine three critical issues related to the safe mobility of senior drivers.
Wyoming: Guide to Assessment & Counseling of Older Drivers — WyomingSource: Nonprofit Organization
Summary of Wyoming policies and regulations for older driver licensing
Idaho: Senior Licensing Laws — IdahoSource: Association
AAA outline’s the state of Idaho’s senior licensing laws including frequent renewals and limited renewal options at 70 and older.
Kentucky: Driver License Information for Seniors — KentuckySource: Association
Caregiverlist.com states that there is no renewal test for seniors in the state of Kentucky. The renewal cycle is every four years and must be done in-person.
Maine: Driving Laws for Seniors and Older Drivers — MaineSource: Association
Drivers are required to renew their licenses every six years in the state of Louisiana, according to AAA.com. They are also required to complete a vision test at every in-person renewal.